2018 ATHENA Nominees Announced at Annual Luncheon

The 2018 ATHENA Nominees were announced at the ATHENA Luncheon on Friday December 8, 2017 at The Classic Center. Sponsored by AT&T and The Classic Center, this annual event serves to recognize both the current award nominees and past recipients.

This year’s nominees include:

Eve Anthony
Athens Community Council on Aging

Alicia Battle
Goodwill Industries
Director- Career Centers

Janet Geddis
Avid Bookshop
Owner and Founder

Kathy Hoard
Retired, University of Georgia
Former ACC Commissioner

Honorable Regina Quick
Superior Court Judge
Western Judicial Circuit

Tracy Thompson
Mercy Health Center
Executive Director

Kate Van Cantfort
Lotta Mae’s Supply Company
Owner and Head Homesteader

Jennifer Zwirn
Athens First Bank & Trust Company
Vice President and Region Market Manager

Past ATHENA Award recipients include: Mary Betts, M. Louise McBee, Carol S. Williams, Maxine Burton, Sharon B. Pickett, Helen H. Mills, Martha Henderson, Barbara Smalley, Elizabeth T. Dalton, Mickey Y. Montevideo, Christine Bates, Nancy Staton, Maxine Easom, Katy O. Arrowood, Janey Cooley, Vivian H. Fisher, Kathryn D. Fowler, Tammy T. Gilland, Nancy Denson, Sue Lawrence, Elaine P. Cook, Cheryl Legette, Flora Tydings, Margaret Wagner Dahl, Marilyn W. Farmer, Judge Patricia Barron, Joan Prittie, Andree Terry, Rubielen Norris and Christy Terrell.

Sponsored locally by the Heyward Allen Motor Company, the ATHENA Award is presented to a person who has attained and embodies the highest level of professional excellence in her business or profession; who has devoted time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community and who actively assists women in realizing their leadership potential.

The 2018 ATHENA Award recipient will be announced at the Chamber of Commerce’s Annual Meeting set for March 8, 2018 at The Classic Center.